Tactical Navigation

You are here

Industrial Design Students Finalists in Chair Affair

Top Stories

University issues statement on the death of Kathleen Babineaux Blanco

The following can be attributed to Dr. Joseph Savoie, University of Louisiana at Lafayette president.

Read More ➝

Governor names second straight University grad state poet laureate

John Warner Smith is the second University of Louisiana at Lafayette graduate in a row designated Louisiana Poet Laureate.

Read More ➝

University awards 330 degrees during Summer Commencement

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette conferred 330 degrees during its Summer Commencement ceremony on Friday at the Cajundome.

Read More ➝

UL Lafayette Industrial Design students Andrew Rudolph of Miami, Fla. and Travis Withers of Morse were selected as finalists in the fourth annual AIAS/ICPF Chair Affair Student Design Competition.

The AIA Convention and Design Exposition was held in San Antonio last month. The six finalists’ chairs, selected from more than 170 entries submitted by teams or individuals, represented 56 schools and were displayed in the AIAS Student Lounge and Gallery in San Antonio. Rudolph and Withers will split the $1,000 third place prize and donate $200 to the university’s AIAS chapter.

The competition is sponsored by the International Corrugated Packaging Foundation (ICPF) and managed by the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS). The Chair Affair program challenges students, working individually or in teams, to explore a variety of uses of corrugated cardboard in design and construction. Participants were required to design a "chair" using corrugated cardboard and glue. The Chair Affair’s definition of a chair is anything that elevates a user of an undetermined size off the ground comfortably for an extended period of time.

The objectives of the competition were to encourage and reward excellence in design that integrates function, aesthetics, structure, ergonomics, details and fun. The Chair Affair also offers students the opportunity to learn more about the corrugated packaging industry and the many careers available for architecture, design, and graphic arts students.

The winning teams included Nicholette Chan, Andrew Kim and Jean You, Cornell University (first place, $2,500); Cem Sinan Kayatekin, Auburn University (second place, $1,500); and Rudolph and Withers.

Jurors for the competition included Wayne Drummond, FAIA, dean of the College of Architecture at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Glenn Fellows, AIA, principal with SMPC Architects; and Jaclyn S. Toole, associate AIA from Bernardon Haber Holloway Architects.