Tactical Navigation

You are here

Former student-athletes, softball icon among hall of fame inductees

Top Stories

University confirms two COVID-19 cases

Once the diagnoses were made, the University’s COVID-19 Student Affairs Response Team activated protocols that outline student care while also protecting the health of the campus community.

Read More ➝

University praised by higher ed’s largest diversity publication

INSIGHT into Diversity, the largest diversity magazine in higher education, featured the University’s LIFE Program and Courageous Conversations series.

Read More ➝

Graduate programs earn kudos from U.S. News & World Report

U.S. News & World Report recognized a range of graduate programs at UL Lafayette in its 2021 Best Graduate Schools national rankings.

Read More ➝

The Louisiana Athletics Hall of Fame will welcome six inductees during Homecoming 2018.

Honorees are former student-athletes Scott Dohmann, Tiffany Clark Gusman, Damon Mason and Anna Petrakova; Yvette Girouard, former Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns softball coach; and Gerald Hebert, the University’s athletic development director.

They will be recognized Saturday, Oct. 13, during halftime of the Homecoming football game. The Ragin’ Cajuns will face New Mexico State at Cajun Field. Kickoff is 4 p.m.

Dohmann pitched for the Ragin’ Cajuns baseball team from 1998-2000 and appeared at the College World Series during his final year of play. A collegiate baseball All-American, he finished his career as the all-time leader in career victories for Louisiana.

Clark Gusman’s 288 hits remain a softball program record. Between 1997 and 2000, she also established records for runs scored, RBIs, doubles, batting average, total bases, extra base hits and walks.

As a member of the Ragin’ Cajuns football team from 1994 to 1996, Mason lettered three times. He posted 135 tackles as a senior, and he leads Louisiana’s all-time list for tackles in a season by a defensive back.

Petrakova remains the only player in Ragin’ Cajuns women’s basketball history to be named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year. She led Louisiana to its first regular-season conference championship in 2005.

Girouard and Hebert are this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

Girouard’s 1,285 victories, amassed during her 31-year career, established her as the seventh-most winningest coach in NCAA history.

The Ragin’ Cajuns’ softball program emerged as a national power during her tenure. Girouard led the team to three Women’s College World Series appearances. It finished third in 1993, and fifth in 1995 and 1996.

Hebert, athletic development director since 2002, was instrumental in the creation of the University's $115 million Athletics Facilities Master Plan. Implemented in 2013, it has resulted in renovations to Cajun Field, M.L. “Tigue” Moore Field at Russo Park, and the soccer and track facility. 

Hebert is a former pitcher and coach for the Louisiana baseball team.

The Ragin’ Cajuns Lettermen Club, an organization of former student-athletes who have lettered in their sports, selects hall of fame honorees.
Read more about the 2018 inductee class here.